The High Court of Uganda is located at Plot 2, the Square Kampala and it is the third court of record in order of hierarchy and has unlimited original jurisdiction, which means that it can try any case of any value or crime of any magnitude. Appeals from all Magistrates Courts go to the High Court.

The High Court is headed by the Honorable Principal Judge who is responsible for the administration of the court and has supervisory powers over Magistrate's courts.

The High Court has eight Divisions:-

  1. Anti-Corruption Division
  2. Civil Division
  3. Commercial Division
  4. Criminal Division
  5. Execution and Bailiffs Division
  6. Family Division
  7. International Crimes Division
  8. Land Division

Most of the business of the High Court is conducted at its headquarters in Kampala, but with the decentralization of the High Court, its services are now obtained at its High Court circuits namely:-

  1. Arua High Court
  2. Fort High Court
  3. Gulu High Court
  4. Hoima High Court
  5. Iganga High Court
  6. Jinja High Court
  7. Kabale High Court
  8. Lira High Court
  9. Luwero High Court
  10. Masaka High Court
  11. Masindi High Court
  12. Mbarara High Court
  13. Mbale High Court
  14. Moroto High Court
  15. Mpigi High Court
  16. Mubende High Court
  17. Mukono High Court
  18. Rukungiri High Court
  19. Soroti High Court
  20. Tororo High Court

The Honorable Judges of the High Court


Get an unrestricted 7-day trial period for free.

This enables the user to familiarize himself/herself with all the features of the App, and an opportunity to evaluate the search engine if it meets his/her requirements before s/he commits to NextLaw™ one-year minimum subscription.